Call for the European Press Prize

Deadline: 13 December, 2019


The European Press Prize is an initiative of several European organisations that aim to encourage journalism of the highest quality in the continent. The contest will award one applicant in four categories with EUR10,000 each for work that has made a significant impact.

Categories are:

  • investigative reporting,
  • distinguished reporting,
  • opinion,
  • innovation.

There is also the judges’ special award.


Journalists from the 47 countries in the Council of Europe can submit their work to this contest. Entries must have been published online or in print in any language, but include a synopsis in English. Submitted work must include a synopsis (250 words maximum) describing the theme, impact and public reception of the article(s).


Works must have been published by a European publication between December 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019.


If your project is considered for the shortlist we will contact you to provide any missing information including all information about the supporting editor, publisher or assessor. You can read more about the procedure of the European Press Prize at timetable and procedure.


For more information about the European Press Prize and submission of the application, please follow the link HERE.